top of page

The Deejay Hall of Fame was founded by Harold Bessent and Gary Bass and is now solely owned by Fat Harold’s Beach Club located in North Myrtle Beach, SC. It consists of regular and honorary members and is physically located at Fat Harold's Beach Club in North Myrtle Beach, S.C. Once a year, the living regular Hall of Fame members vote to elect one or more members to the regular and honorary Hall of Fame. Inductions are then held at Fat Harold's Beach Club during Deejay Throwdown in March. The criteria for nomination to the regular and honorary Deejay Hall of Fame is as follows.”



  • A member in good standing of the Association of Beach and Shag Club Deejays

  • Non-members of the ABSCDJ’s may also be nominated if exceptional dedication has been exercised to promote and preserve Beach and Shag Music

  • Nominee should be of reputable character and have conducted him/herself in a professional manner

  • Minimum play time of twenty years

  • Nominee must have made some contribution to the promotion of Beach and Shag Music

  • No full-time radio jocks are to be considered unless bookings are played on an individual basis


  • Full-time Radio Jocks

  • Organizations that have promoted Beach Music (record companies, publications, social organizations, etc.)

  • Contributions to the promotion of Beach Music in an exceptional manner

  • Recording artists

  • Bands

bottom of page